# Brother SE700 vs SE2000: 4x4 vs 5x7 Combo Compared

> Brother SE700 vs SE2000: a 4 × 4 vs 5 × 7 sewing and embroidery combo. Every spec difference, hoop-size regret, and the SE630 as the no-Wi-Fi option.

- Source: https://embroiderywise.com/posts/brother-se700-vs-se2000/
- Markdown version: https://embroiderywise.com/posts/brother-se700-vs-se2000.md
- Last updated: 2026-10-07

---

- [Home](https://embroiderywise.com/)
- [Guides](https://embroiderywise.com/guides/)
- Brother SE700 vs SE2000: 4 × 4 or 5 × 7 combo?

 Head-to-head
# Brother SE700 vs SE2000: 4 × 4 or 5 × 7 combo?
  Updated October 7, 2026 By [EmbroideryWise Editorial Team](https://embroiderywise.com/about/) [How we research](https://embroiderywise.com/how-we-research/)

Prices are approximate and change often, so check the current price before you buy.

## Key takeaways

- The field is the real decision: 100 × 100 mm (SE700) vs 130 × 180 mm (SE2000).
- The SE2000 also adds 650 vs 400 spm embroidery, 241 vs 103 sewing stitches, 850 vs 710 spm sewing and jump stitch trimming.
- Both are current models with Wi-Fi, Artspira, USB and the same eight presser feet.
- The SE630 keeps the 4 × 4 field and 103 stitches but drops Wi-Fi (USB only) and has 80 designs.
- If you outgrow a 4 × 4 field, no accessory hoop fixes it; only a bigger machine does.

## Our top picks

- 1![Brother SE2000](https://embroiderywise.com/_astro/brother-se2000.B02DMjfJ_ZwRvwo.webp)Most first-and-only machine buyers: room for T-shirt fronts and totes[Brother SE2000](https://embroiderywise.com/machines/brother-se2000/)5 × 7 in field · Sewing + embroidery · BrotherCheck pricePrice not verified[Check price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B835KJFF?tag=room4205-20)
- 2![Brother SE700](https://embroiderywise.com/_astro/brother-se700.Cxhtz-4W_2g3z2V.webp)Small designs only (monograms, patches) and wants Wi-Fi[Brother SE700](https://embroiderywise.com/machines/brother-se700/)4 × 4 in field · Sewing + embroidery · BrotherCheck pricePrice not verified[Check price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B8DYP1RN?tag=room4205-20)
- 3![Brother SE630](https://embroiderywise.com/_astro/brother-se630.BAW65AoB_ZvJ2Qy.webp)Small designs, simplest combo, happy with USB instead of Wi-Fi[Brother SE630](https://embroiderywise.com/machines/brother-se630/)4 × 4 in field · Sewing + embroidery · BrotherCheck pricePrice not verified[Check price](https://www.amazon.com/s?k=Brother+SE630+sewing+embroidery+machine&tag=room4205-20)

### On this page 12 sections

- [Status: all three are current](#status-all-three-are-current)
- [Every spec difference, side by side](#every-spec-difference-side-by-side)
- [The real question: will 4 × 4 be enough?](#the-real-question-will-4--4-be-enough)
- [Does 400 vs 650 spm matter?](#does-400-vs-650-spm-matter)
- [Switching between sewing and embroidery](#switching-between-sewing-and-embroidery)
- [Sewing differences](#sewing-differences)
- [Which should you buy?](#which-should-you-buy)
- [The bottom line](#the-bottom-line)
- [Spec comparison](#spec-comparison)
- [What to buy](#what-to-buy)
- [Related tool](#related-tool)
- [FAQ](#faq)

## Before you choose

- [4 × 4 vs 5 × 7 embroidery hoop: what fits and which to buy](https://embroiderywise.com/posts/4x4-vs-5x7-embroidery-hoop/)
- [Brother PE900 vs SE2000: do you need sewing too?](https://embroiderywise.com/posts/brother-pe900-vs-se2000/)
- [Brother SE1900 vs SE2000: what changed and which to buy](https://embroiderywise.com/posts/brother-se1900-vs-se2000/)

The SE700 and SE2000 are both current Brother sewing and embroidery combos with Wi-Fi and Artspira. The big difference is the embroidery field: the SE700 is 4 × 4 inches (100 × 100 mm) and the SE2000 is 5 × 7 inches (130 × 180 mm), 2.34× the area. The SE2000 also embroiders faster (650 vs 400 spm), has 241 vs 103 sewing stitches and adds jump stitch trimming. Choose the SE700 only if your designs will stay small; the SE630 is the same-size option without Wi-Fi.
The SE700 and SE2000 look like the same machine in two sizes, and in many ways they are: both are Brother sewing and embroidery combos, both have Wi-Fi and Artspira, and both ship with the same set of presser feet. The decision that matters is the embroidery field: 4 × 4 or 5 × 7.

This comparison uses Brother’s product pages and operation manuals (checked October 7, 2026). EmbroideryWise did not stitch on these machines. We also include the SE630, Brother’s simpler 4 × 4 combo without Wi-Fi, because it is the other machine people cross-shop.

## Status: all three are current

| | SE630 | SE700 | SE2000 |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Brother status | **Current** (Brother’s own store showed new units out of stock and a refurbished option on October 7, 2026) | **Current** | **Current** |
| Warranty label on Brother’s page | 1/2/25 Year Limited | 1/2/25 Year Limited | 1/2/25 Year Limited |

Because all three are current, you can buy any of them new from an authorized reseller and get Brother’s standard warranty. The discontinued combo in this family is the SE1900; if you are looking at one used, see our [SE1900 vs SE2000 comparison](https://embroiderywise.com/posts/brother-se1900-vs-se2000/).

## Every spec difference, side by side

| Spec | Brother SE630 | Brother SE700 | Brother SE2000 |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Maximum embroidery field | 4 × 4 in (100 × 100 mm) | 4 × 4 in (100 × 100 mm) | 5 × 7 in (130 × 180 mm) |
| Field area | 10,000 mm² | 10,000 mm² | 23,400 mm² (2.34×) |
| Built-in embroidery designs | 80 (Brother’s “480” adds 400 downloads) | 135 | 193 |
| Embroidery fonts | 9 | 10 | 13 |
| Maximum embroidery speed | Not stated by Brother | 400 spm (manual; not on the product page) | 650 spm |
| Built-in sewing stitches | 103 | 103 | 241 |
| Maximum sewing speed | 710 spm | 710 spm | 850 spm |
| Screen | Conflict: spec table says 3.2 × 1.8”; marketing text says 3.7” | 3.2 × 1.8” LCD | 3.7” LCD |
| Design transfer | USB only | USB, Wi-Fi, Design Database Transfer, Artspira | USB, Wi-Fi, Design Database Transfer, Artspira |
| Automatic thread cutter | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Jump stitch trimming | Not stated by Brother | Not stated by Brother | Yes |
| Presser feet included | 8 | 8 | 8 (same list on all three) |
| One-step buttonhole styles | 10 | 10 | 10 |
| Optional 4 × 7 in magnetic frame | Not stated by Brother | Not stated by Brother | Yes (sold separately) |
| Max stitches per design (Brother support article) | 30,000 for 4 × 4 | 30,000 for 4 × 4 | 50,000 for 5 × 7 |
| Max stitches per design (operation manual) | Not stated in the sources checked | Up to 100,000 | Up to 200,000 |
| Native file format | PES | PES | PES |

### Brother’s data conflicts

- **SE630 screen:** the spec table lists a 3.2 × 1.8” display while the marketing text calls it a 3.7” color LCD touch screen. Check the listing or the machine in person if screen size matters.

- **SE630 design count:** “480 embroidery designs” in the headline is 80 built-in plus 400 downloadable designs. Only 80 live on the machine.

- **SE700 speed:** the 400 spm figure comes from the operation manual; the product page does not list an embroidery speed.

- **Stitch limits:** Brother’s support article lists 30,000 stitches per design for 4 × 4 and 50,000 for 5 × 7, while the manuals list up to 100,000 (SE700) and 200,000 (SE2000). Most designs in these sizes are well under every figure. If a dense file is rejected, check your manual.

## The real question: will 4 × 4 be enough?

The 5 × 7 field is 30 mm wider and 80 mm taller than 4 × 4, which works out to 2.34 times the stitchable area. That is the difference between a monogram and a T-shirt front.

| Project | 4 × 4 (SE630, SE700) | 5 × 7 (SE2000) |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Left-chest monogram or logo | Yes (Printful caps left-chest embroidery at 4 × 4 in) | Yes |
| Baby bib or onesie motif | Usually yes | Yes |
| Name across a towel band, 150 mm long | No | Yes, rotated |
| Tote bag design about 120 × 160 mm | No | Yes |
| Most 5 × 7 quilt block designs | No | Yes |
| Larger front design like Printful’s 10 × 6 in embroidery area | No | No (needs 6 × 10) |

### The hoop regret problem

The real risk with a 4 × 4 machine is outgrowing the field. Many popular designs are sold in several sizes, and the larger versions often need 5 × 7. Once you want those, a 4 × 4 combo cannot help.

Two things do not fix it:

- **A larger accessory hoop.** A bigger hoop does not expand the machine’s field. The embroidery arm only moves within 100 × 100 mm.

- **Shrinking the design.** You can reduce a design a little in software, but large reductions crowd stitches and lose detail. See our guide to [resizing embroidery designs](https://embroiderywise.com/posts/embroidery-design-resizing/).

Split designs (separate files stitched one after another with re-hooping) can work for borders and large pieces, but they take careful alignment and are not a beginner-friendly everyday workflow.

Before choosing, gather the five designs you most want to make and check each one in the [hoop fit checker](https://embroiderywise.com/tools/hoop-fit/). If any are bigger than 100 × 100 mm, the SE2000 is your machine.

## Does 400 vs 650 spm matter?

Top speed is a ceiling, not an average. Machines slow down for small details, and color changes and trimming add time. Still, the gap is real when you stitch the same design repeatedly.

As a simple example, a 9,000-stitch design takes about 22.5 minutes of pure stitching at 400 spm and about 14 minutes at 650 spm. Add your own thread changes and hooping time, and run your numbers in the [stitch time calculator](https://embroiderywise.com/tools/stitch-time/). For a single gift, the difference is small. For a batch of 20 personalized towels, it adds up to hours.

## Switching between sewing and embroidery

All three are combos, which means one machine does two jobs, but not at the same time. To embroider, you attach the embroidery unit and embroidery foot; to sew, you take the unit off and change feet again. The SE2000 does not change that routine, it just gives you a bigger field once the unit is on.

If you often want to sew one project while another stitches out, that is the case for owning a separate embroidery-only machine rather than any combo.

## Sewing differences

People often focus on embroidery and forget that the SE2000 is also the stronger sewing machine on paper. Brother lists 241 sewing stitches versus 103, and a top sewing speed of 850 spm versus 710. Both include the same eight feet (zigzag, monogramming, overcasting, zipper, blind stitch, button fitting, buttonhole and embroidery) and 10 one-step buttonhole styles.

For basic garment sewing and repairs, 103 stitches covers the essentials. The extra stitches on the SE2000 are mostly decorative options.

## Which should you buy?

| Buyer | Pick | Why |
| --- | --- | --- |
| First and only machine, wants room to grow | SE2000 | 5 × 7 field, faster embroidery, jump stitch trimming |
| Plans T-shirt fronts, totes or quilt blocks | SE2000 | 4 × 4 is too small for these |
| Only monograms, names, patches, small motifs | SE700 | Same workflow, 4 × 4 is enough |
| Small designs, wants the simplest machine, fine with USB | SE630 | No Wi-Fi; 80 designs; same 103 stitches |
| Already owns a sewing machine | None of these | Compare embroidery-only models such as the PE900 |

### Choose the SE2000 if…

You want one machine that sews and embroiders, and you can picture even a few projects bigger than about 4 inches. It is also the faster embroiderer of the two and the only one with jump stitch trimming listed.

### Choose the SE700 if…

You are confident your embroidery will stay small and you like wireless transfer and Artspira. It has the same feet and buttonholes as the SE2000, so the sewing side covers everyday needs.

### Choose the SE630 if…

You want the simplest 4 × 4 combo and do not mind carrying designs over on a USB stick. You give up Wi-Fi, Artspira and 55 built-in designs compared with the SE700. Keep in mind Brother does not state its embroidery speed.

### Skip all three if…

You already sew on a machine you like. An embroidery-only machine lets you sew while it stitches; see [PE900 vs SE2000](https://embroiderywise.com/posts/brother-pe900-vs-se2000/) and our [embroidery-only vs combo guide](https://embroiderywise.com/posts/embroidery-only-vs-combo-machine/).

## The bottom line

The SE700 and SE2000 share a workflow, but not a field. The SE2000’s 130 × 180 mm area, faster embroidery and jump stitch trimming make it the safer first-and-only machine for most people. The SE700 is a good fit only if you are sure your designs will stay at 4 × 4, and the SE630 is the same idea without Wi-Fi.

For more context, read the [4 × 4 vs 5 × 7 hoop guide](https://embroiderywise.com/posts/4x4-vs-5x7-embroidery-hoop/) or browse the [best sewing and embroidery combos](https://embroiderywise.com/posts/best-sewing-and-embroidery-machine-combo/).

## Spec comparison

Manufacturer specifications, checked October 2026. Maximum speed is a ceiling, not typical output.

| Machine | Field | Type | Designs | Max speed | Transfer |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Brother SE630](https://embroiderywise.com/machines/brother-se630/) | 100 × 100 mm (4 × 4 in) | Combo | 80 | — | USB |
| [Brother SE700](https://embroiderywise.com/machines/brother-se700/) | 100 × 100 mm (4 × 4 in) | Combo | 135 | 400 spm | USB, Wi-Fi, Artspira app |
| [Brother SE2000](https://embroiderywise.com/machines/brother-se2000/) | 130 × 180 mm (5 × 7 in) | Combo | 193 | 650 spm | USB, Wi-Fi, Artspira app |

## What to buy

The supplies this guide calls for, with what to check before buying. Prices change often — confirm with the seller.

- **[Cut-away stabilizer](https://www.amazon.com/s?k=cut+away+embroidery+stabilizer+medium+weight&tag=room4205-20)** — Permanent support for knits, T-shirts, sweatshirts and anything that stretches.

- **[Tear-away stabilizer](https://www.amazon.com/s?k=tear+away+embroidery+stabilizer&tag=room4205-20)** — Temporary support for stable wovens such as canvas, denim, twill and quilting cotton.

- **[Water- or air-erasable marking pen](https://www.amazon.com/s?k=water+erasable+fabric+marking+pen&tag=room4205-20)** — Mark center lines and placement before hooping so the design lands where you planned.

## Related tool

Try the [Embroidery hoop fit checker](https://embroiderywise.com/tools/hoop-fit/): Check your design dimensions against any field, with rotation. Free, no signup.

## Don't guess. Calculate.

- [🧵 Machine Finder](https://embroiderywise.com/tools/machine-finder/): which machines fit your projects
- [▱ Hoop Fit Checker](https://embroiderywise.com/tools/hoop-fit/): will your design fit the field
- [◷ Stitch Time Calculator](https://embroiderywise.com/tools/stitch-time/): how long a design takes to stitch
- [📊 Compare every machine](https://embroiderywise.com/machines/): sortable spec table

## Frequently asked questions

### Can I put a bigger hoop on the SE700?
No accessory hoop expands the SE700’s 4 × 4 inch (100 × 100 mm) maximum embroidery area. The machine’s field is the limit, so for larger single designs you need a 5 × 7 machine like the SE2000.

### Is the SE2000 better for sewing too?
On paper, yes: Brother lists 241 sewing stitches and up to 850 spm sewing for the SE2000, versus 103 stitches and up to 710 spm for the SE700. Both include the same eight presser feet and 10 one-step buttonhole styles.

### What is the difference between the SE630 and SE700?
Both are 4 × 4 combos with 103 sewing stitches. The SE700 adds Wi-Fi and Artspira, 135 vs 80 built-in designs and 10 vs 9 fonts; the SE630 loads designs by USB only.

### Does the SE700 trim jump stitches?
Brother lists an automatic thread cutter on the SE700 but does not mention jump stitch trimming. The SE2000 page lists jump stitch trimming specifically.

### Are the SE700 and SE2000 discontinued?
No. Both are current Brother models as of October 2026. The discontinued 5 × 7 combo is the older SE1900.

## Sources

- [Brother SE700 product page and specifications](https://www.brother-usa.com/p/sewing-embroidery/SE700)
- [Brother SE700 operation manual (PDF)](https://download.brother.com/welcome/doch102582/888p10_om01en.pdf)
- [Brother SE2000 product page and specifications](https://www.brother-usa.com/p/sewing-embroidery/SE2000)
- [Brother SE2000 operation manual (PDF)](https://download.brother.com/welcome/doch102507/888_k10_l11_l12_om01en.pdf)
- [Brother SE630 product page and specifications](https://www.brother-usa.com/p/sewing-embroidery/SE630)
- [Brother support: embroidery design not recognized (stitch limits by hoop)](https://help.brother-usa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/185941)
- [Printful: T-shirt design placement guide (embroidery placement sizes)](https://printful.com/blog/t-shirt-design-placement-guide)

Our #1 pick
 Most first-and-only machine buyers: room for T-shirt fronts and totes ![Brother SE2000](https://embroiderywise.com/_astro/brother-se2000.B02DMjfJ_1HSkDr.webp)

### [Brother SE2000](https://embroiderywise.com/machines/brother-se2000/)

- 5 × 7 in field
- Sewing + embroidery
- Up to 650 spm
- Wi-Fi
Beginners who want one machine for both sewing and 5 × 7 embroidery.
   Check price Price not verified today's price on Amazon
[Check price on Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B835KJFF?tag=room4205-20)[Read the full review](https://embroiderywise.com/machines/brother-se2000/)

[🧵 Not sure which fits? Find your embroidery machine in 60 seconds.](https://embroiderywise.com/tools/machine-finder/)[📊 Compare every machine Sortable chart of all beginner machines.](https://embroiderywise.com/machines/)

## Keep reading
[Explainer
### 4 × 4 vs 5 × 7 embroidery hoop: what fits and which to buy
4 × 4 vs 5 × 7 embroidery hoops in real millimeters: 100 × 100 vs 130 × 180 mm, the 101.6 mm trap, rotation, what fits, stitch limits and which machine to buy.
 Updated Oct 7, 2026](https://embroiderywise.com/posts/4x4-vs-5x7-embroidery-hoop/)[Head-to-head
### Brother PE900 vs SE2000: do you need sewing too?
Brother PE900 vs SE2000: identical 5 × 7 embroidery specs, so the choice is about sewing. Full spec table, workflow trade-offs and a verdict by buyer type.
 Updated Oct 7, 2026](https://embroiderywise.com/posts/brother-pe900-vs-se2000/)[Head-to-head
### Brother SE1900 vs SE2000: what changed and which to buy
Brother SE1900 vs SE2000: both are 5 × 7 sewing and embroidery combos. See every spec difference, Brother’s data conflicts, and who should buy which.
 Updated Oct 7, 2026](https://embroiderywise.com/posts/brother-se1900-vs-se2000/)

 Most first-and-only machine buyers: room for T-shirt fronts and totes SE2000 Check price Price not verified
[Check price](https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0B835KJFF?tag=room4205-20)
