Brother PE535 vs PE545: differences, and when to skip both
Our top picks
Buy new: small designs only, wants Wi-Fi and a warrantyBrother PE5454 × 4 in field · Embroidery only · BrotherPrice not verifiedCheck price on Amazon
Buy used: lowest cost for monograms and patches, USB is fineBrother PE5354 × 4 in field · Embroidery only · BrotherPrice not verifiedCheck price
Skip both: anyone planning T-shirt fronts, totes or larger designsBrother PE9005 × 7 in field · Embroidery only · BrotherPrice not verifiedCheck price
The PE535 and PE545 are both Brother embroidery-only machines with the same 4 × 4 inch (100 × 100 mm) field. The PE545 is the current model and adds Wi-Fi, Artspira, a 3.7” screen, a stated 400 spm speed, 135 designs and 10 fonts; the PE535 is discontinued, USB-only, with 80 designs and 9 fonts. If any design you want is larger than 100 mm on a side, skip both and look at the 5 × 7 PE900. The PE535 was Brother’s entry-level 4 × 4 embroidery-only machine for years, and the PE545 replaced it. Both still come up in searches because leftover and used PE535s are common, often at a lower price than a new PE545.
This guide compares the two line by line using Brother’s own pages and manuals (checked October 7, 2026), flags where Brother counts things differently, and then answers the question that matters more for many buyers: should you buy a 4 × 4 machine at all, or go straight to the 5 × 7 PE900? EmbroideryWise did not stitch on these machines; this is a research-based comparison.
Status: current vs discontinued
| PE535 | PE545 | |
|---|---|---|
| Brother status | Discontinued | Current (Brother’s own store showed it out of stock on October 7, 2026) |
| Where you will find it | Used, refurbished, remaining stock | New from Brother and authorized resellers |
| Warranty label on Brother’s page | 1/2/25 Year Limited | 1/2/25 Year Limited |
“Out of stock” on Brother’s site is not the same as discontinued. Brother still presents the PE545 as a current model; stock comes and goes at different retailers.
For the PE535, the warranty detail matters. Brother’s home sewing warranty statement says coverage is given only to the end-use purchaser and is void if the machine was not bought from an authorized Brother reseller in the US. Periods run from the purchase date: one year parts and labor, two years for electronic components, 25 years for head parts such as shafts. So remaining new stock from an authorized reseller should be covered from your receipt date, while a secondhand PE535 should be treated as having no Brother warranty.
Every spec difference, side by side
| Spec | Brother PE535 | Brother PE545 |
|---|---|---|
| Machine type | Embroidery-only | Embroidery-only |
| Maximum embroidery field | 4 × 4 in (100 × 100 mm) | 4 × 4 in (100 × 100 mm) |
| Built-in designs | 80 designs, plus 10 frame patterns listed separately | 135 total (Brother: 75 motif designs + 60 alphabet/frame designs) |
| Built-in fonts | 9 | 10 |
| Maximum embroidery speed | Not stated by Brother | 400 spm |
| Screen | Color touch LCD (size not stated by Brother) | 3.7” color touchscreen |
| Design transfer | USB | USB, Wi-Fi, Design Database Transfer, Artspira app |
| Automatic thread cutting | Not listed on the product page; manual describes cutting at each color end | Yes, automatic thread cutter |
| Jump stitch trimming | Not stated by Brother | Not stated by Brother |
| Needle threading | Automatic needle threading | Advanced needle threading system |
| Included hoop | Not itemized on the product page | One 4 × 4 in frame |
| Weight | 14.99 lb | 14.07 lb |
| Dimensions (W × D × H) | 7.756 × 16.5 × 12.08 in | 7.76 × 16.50 × 12.09 in |
| Max stitches per design (Brother support article) | 30,000 for 4 × 4 | 30,000 for 4 × 4 |
| Max stitches per design (operation manual) | Not stated in the sources checked | Up to 100,000 |
| Native file format | PES | PES |
| Brother status | Discontinued | Current |
Brother’s counting quirks and conflicts
Design counts are not apples to apples. The PE535 page lists 80 designs and, separately, 10 frame patterns. The PE545’s 135 includes 60 alphabet and frame designs alongside 75 motifs. So the gap in actual picture motifs is closer to 80 vs 75 plus extra lettering and frame content than the headline 80 vs 135 suggests.
Stitch limits conflict. Brother’s support article on unrecognized designs lists a 30,000-stitch maximum for a 4 × 4 hoop. The PE545 manual says up to 100,000 stitches per pattern. Most 4 × 4 designs are far below either number, but if a dense file refuses to load, this is one reason Brother gives. Check your manual.
Thread cutting on the PE535 appears in the manual but not on the product page. Expect cutting at the end of each color, not trimming of jump stitches within a color.
What the PE545 actually adds
The physical machine is nearly identical in size and weight, and the field is the same. The upgrades are about workflow:
- Wireless transfer and Artspira. Send designs from a computer or phone without a USB stick. See how to transfer embroidery designs for both methods.
- A larger, stated 3.7” screen for on-screen editing.
- One more font and more lettering/frame content, useful for monogramming.
- A stated top speed of 400 spm. Brother does not give one for the PE535, so you cannot compare speed from Brother’s data.
None of these change what fits in the hoop.
Which should you buy?
| Buyer | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| New buyer, small designs only, wants a warranty | PE545 | Current model with Brother coverage from an authorized reseller |
| Wants to send designs from a phone | PE545 | Wi-Fi and Artspira; the PE535 is USB-only |
| Lowest cost for monograms, patches and baby items | Used PE535 | Same 4 × 4 field if the price is clearly lower |
| Plans T-shirt fronts, totes, larger quilt blocks | PE900 (skip both) | 130 × 180 mm field |
| Wants to sew seams too | Neither | Look at the SE700 or SE2000 combos |
Choose the PE545 if…
Your projects really are small (names, initials, small motifs, patches), you want a new machine with a warranty, and you like the idea of wireless transfer. It is the entry point in Brother’s current embroidery-only line.
Choose a PE535 if…
You find one tested and complete, at a price clearly below a new PE545, and you are fine with a USB stick. You give up wireless and a warranty, not stitch area.
What to check on a used PE535
Small machines are easy to ship and easy to list with the wrong model name, so verify before paying:
- Model label on the machine says PE535 (not an older PE525 or a different series).
- The 4 × 4 hoop and embroidery foot are included. Without the hoop, you will be buying one separately.
- A recent stitch-out of a built-in design with lettering, ideally on video, so you can see the machine run through a color change and cut.
- USB port works. It is the PE535’s only way to load designs, so ask the seller to load a file from a stick.
- The power cord and bobbin case are present, plus the manual (or plan to download it from Brother).
If the history is unknown, budget for a service visit. Our used embroidery machine checklist covers the full process.
When to skip both and buy a 5 × 7 PE900
This is the decision that causes the most regret with 4 × 4 machines. A 4 × 4 field is 100 × 100 mm, which is 10,000 mm². The PE900’s 5 × 7 field is 130 × 180 mm, or 23,400 mm²: 2.34 times the area.
That extra room changes what you can make in one hooping:
| Project | Fits 4 × 4 (100 × 100 mm)? | Fits 5 × 7 (130 × 180 mm)? |
|---|---|---|
| Left-chest monogram or small logo | Yes (Printful caps left-chest embroidery at 4 × 4 in) | Yes |
| Name across a towel border, 150 mm wide | No | Yes, rotated |
| Tote bag design about 120 × 160 mm | No | Yes |
| Larger front design such as Printful’s 10 × 6 in embroidery area | No | No (needs a 6 × 10 field) |
| Patch or small appliqué under 95 mm | Yes | Yes |
Watch the inch trap, too. Four inches is 101.6 mm, so a design sold as “4 × 4” at exactly 4.00 inches can exceed a 100 mm field by a hair. Design shops usually size 4 × 4 files to fit, but always check the millimeter dimensions or run them through the hoop fit checker.
The PE900 also brings jump stitch trimming, 193 designs, 13 fonts and up to 650 spm. It costs more than either 4 × 4 machine, so the rule is simple:
- Stay with 4 × 4 if every design you can picture is a monogram, name or small motif under about 95 mm.
- Go to the PE900 if even one of your planned projects is a T-shirt front, a tote or a 5 × 7 design you already like.
Our 4 × 4 vs 5 × 7 hoop guide goes deeper on sizes, rotation and split designs, and the PE800 vs PE900 comparison covers the cheaper used route to 5 × 7.
The bottom line
The PE535 and PE545 stitch the same size designs. The PE545 is the current model with wireless transfer, a bigger stated screen and a warranty when bought new; the PE535 is a discontinued, USB-only machine that only makes sense used and cheap.
Before choosing between them, decide whether 4 × 4 is enough. If it is, buy the PE545 new or a PE535 used. If it is not, both are the wrong machine and the PE900 is the place to start. For more budget routes, see our budget embroidery machine guide.
Spec comparison
Manufacturer specifications, checked October 2026. Maximum speed is a ceiling, not typical output.
| Machine | Field | Type | Designs | Max speed | Transfer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brother PE535 | 100 × 100 mm (4 × 4 in) | Embroidery-only | 80 | — | USB |
| Brother PE545 | 100 × 100 mm (4 × 4 in) | Embroidery-only | 135 | 400 spm | USB, Wi-Fi, Artspira app |
| Brother PE900 | 130 × 180 mm (5 × 7 in) | Embroidery-only | 193 | 650 spm | USB, Wi-Fi, Artspira app |
What to buy
The supplies this guide calls for, with what to check before buying. Prices change often — confirm with the seller.
- Small USB flash drive — The most universal way to move designs from computer to machine.
- Cut-away stabilizer — Permanent support for knits, T-shirts, sweatshirts and anything that stretches.
- Tear-away stabilizer — Temporary support for stable wovens such as canvas, denim, twill and quilting cotton.
Related tool
Try the Embroidery hoop fit checker: Check your design dimensions against any field, with rotation. Free, no signup.
Frequently asked questions
Is the PE545 hoop bigger than the PE535?
Is the Brother PE535 discontinued?
Does the PE535 cut threads automatically?
Can a 4 × 4 machine embroider a T-shirt?
Is a 4 × 4 design exactly 4 inches?
Sources
- Brother PE535 product page and specifications
- Brother PE545 product page and specifications
- Brother PE545 operation manual (PDF)
- Brother PE900 product page and specifications
- Brother support: embroidery design not recognized (stitch limits by hoop)
- Brother home sewing limited warranty statement (PDF)
- Printful: T-shirt design placement guide (embroidery placement sizes)