🧵 Our #1 embroidery machine for beginners: PE900 · See today's price →

Brother SE1900 vs SE2000: what changed and which to buy

Prices are approximate and change often, so check the current price before you buy.

Our top picks

  1. Brother SE2000
    Buy new: first-and-only machine buyers who want sewing, 5 × 7 and a warrantyBrother SE20005 × 7 in field · Sewing + embroidery · Brother
    Price not verifiedCheck price on Amazon
  2. Brother SE1900
    Buy used: budget sewists happy with USB who find a tested machine cheaplyBrother SE19005 × 7 in field · Sewing + embroidery · Brother
    Price not verifiedCheck price

The SE1900 and SE2000 are both Brother sewing and embroidery combos with the same 5 × 7 inch embroidery field. The SE2000 is the current model and adds Wi-Fi, Artspira, jump stitch trimming, a 3.7” screen, 193 designs and 13 fonts; the SE1900 is discontinued, USB-only and has 138 designs. Buy the SE2000 new unless a used SE1900 is clearly cheaper and you accept no Brother warranty. The SE1900 was the 5 × 7 sewing and embroidery combo most beginners bought before the SE2000 arrived. It still shows up everywhere as used and leftover stock, so shoppers end up comparing a cheaper SE1900 with a new SE2000 and wondering what the difference actually is.

Short version: the embroidery field and sewing speed are the same, and the SE2000 is the current model with wireless transfer and jump stitch trimming. Everything below comes from Brother’s product pages and manuals (checked October 7, 2026), including the places where Brother’s SE1900 data contradicts itself. EmbroideryWise did not stitch on either machine.

Status: what “discontinued” means for you

SE1900SE2000
Brother statusDiscontinuedCurrent
Where you will find itUsed, refurbished or remaining stockNew from Brother and authorized resellers
Warranty label on Brother’s page“25 Year Limited Warranty”“1/2/25 Year Limited Warranty”

Brother’s home sewing warranty statement explains the 1/2/25 structure: one year of parts and labor, two years for electronic pattern control and selection components, and 25 years for head parts such as shafts and connecting rods, with exclusions such as the motor and needles. The SE1900 page shortens the label to “25 Year Limited Warranty,” which likely refers to the same tiered statement, but Brother does not say so on the page.

The bigger issue is who gets the coverage. Brother’s statement says the warranty is given only to the end-use purchaser, and it is void if the machine was not bought from an authorized Brother reseller in the US. Coverage runs from the date of purchase.

  • A never-sold SE1900 from an authorized reseller should carry Brother’s warranty from your purchase date. Keep the dated receipt.
  • A used SE1900 from a private seller or marketplace should be treated as having no Brother warranty.

Every spec difference, side by side

SpecBrother SE1900Brother SE2000
Machine typeSewing and embroidery comboSewing and embroidery combo
Maximum embroidery field5 × 7 in (130 × 180 mm)5 × 7 in (130 × 180 mm)
Built-in embroidery designs138 (Brother data also says 136 and “over 100”)193
Embroidery fonts11 in the description; spec table says 6; sewing section says 5 (conflict)13 embroidery fonts, plus 5 sewing lettering fonts
Built-in sewing stitches240241
Maximum embroidery speedNot stated by Brother650 spm
Maximum sewing speed850 spm850 spm
Screen3 × 1.6” touch LCD3.7” color LCD
Design transferUSB only (Brother: “Wireless Enabled: No”)USB, Wi-Fi, Design Database Transfer, Artspira app
Jump stitch trimmingNot stated by BrotherYes
Automatic thread cutterConflict: spec table says No; also lists “Automatic Feed Thread Cutting: Yes”; manual describes end-of-color trimYes
Optional 4 × 7 in magnetic frameNot stated by BrotherYes (sold separately)
Included presser feet8+ including buttonhole, monogramming, zipper, embroidery and blind stitch8: zigzag, monogramming, overcasting, zipper, blind stitch, button fitting, buttonhole, embroidery
One-step buttonholesNot stated in the sources checked10 styles
My Custom StitchNot stated by BrotherYes
Max stitches per design (Brother support article)50,000 for 5 × 750,000 for 5 × 7
Max stitches per design (operation manual)Not stated in the sources checkedUp to 200,000
Native file formatPESPES
Brother statusDiscontinuedCurrent

Brother’s data conflicts, explained

The SE1900 page is unusually inconsistent, so read its numbers with care:

  • Designs: the headline and spec table say 138, the description says “over 100,” and other Brother data says 136. Treat it as roughly 136–138.
  • Fonts: the description says 11, the spec table says 6, and the sewing section says 5. A likely reading is that 5 is the sewing lettering count (the SE2000 also lists 5 sewing lettering fonts), but Brother does not say so.
  • Thread cutting: the spec table says “Automatic Thread Cutter: No” while also listing “Automatic Feed Thread Cutting: Yes” for embroidery. The operation manual describes a trim at the end of each color. Expect end-of-color trimming, not jump stitch trimming.

There is also a stitch-limit conflict that affects both machines. Brother’s support article lists a 50,000-stitch maximum per design for a 5 × 7 hoop, while the SE2000 manual lists up to 200,000 stitches per pattern. Most 5 × 7 designs sit well under both. If a large file will not load, check your manual and the stitch count.

What is the same on both

Both machines have a 5 × 7 embroidery field, so the same design files fit both. Both sew at up to 850 stitches per minute, and the sewing stitch libraries are almost identical in size (240 vs 241). Both use Brother’s PES format.

So if you are deciding based on what you can make, there is no difference: the same T-shirt fronts, tote designs and quilt blocks fit either machine. The differences are about convenience, content and support.

What the SE2000 adds

Wireless transfer and Artspira

The SE1900 takes designs by USB only. The SE2000 adds wireless LAN, Brother’s Design Database Transfer software and the Artspira app. Artspira has a free tier and a paid Artspira+ subscription for extra tools; check Brother’s current pricing if the premium features interest you.

Jump stitch trimming

Brother lists jump stitch trimming on the SE2000, which cuts the travel threads between separate parts of a design. On the SE1900 you can expect end-of-color trimming at most, so you snip jumps between letters yourself. For anyone stitching names and monograms, this is the most practical upgrade.

More designs, more fonts, bigger screen

193 designs and 13 embroidery fonts versus roughly 138 and a disputed font count. The SE2000’s 3.7” screen is also larger than the SE1900’s 3 × 1.6” display, which makes on-screen editing easier.

Does the upgrade change what you can make?

Not in size. A design that is 125 × 175 mm fits both machines; one that is 140 × 190 mm fits neither, even rotated, and needs a split design or a bigger machine such as the 6 × 10 NQ3550W. You can check any design against both fields in the hoop fit checker.

Where the SE2000 helps is time and tidiness. Lettering-heavy projects, such as names on towels or team shirts, finish with fewer hand-trimmed jumps. And sending a design from your phone avoids the save-eject-walk routine that a USB-only machine requires. If you only embroider occasionally, those are nice extras; if you embroider weekly, they add up.

Which should you buy?

BuyerPickReason
First and only machine, wants a warrantySE2000Current model, Brother warranty from an authorized reseller
Stitches names, monograms and lettering oftenSE2000Jump stitch trimming and 13 fonts
Phone-first, wants ArtspiraSE2000The SE1900 is not wireless-enabled
Tight budget, finds a tested SE1900 well below SE2000 pricingSE1900Same field and sewing speed
Uses a computer and embroidery software anywayEither; SE1900 if cheapUSB is fine for computer workflows
Already owns a good sewing machineNeitherCompare the PE900 embroidery-only machine

Choose the SE2000 if…

You want one new machine for sewing and 5 × 7 embroidery, with Brother’s warranty and the current software support. It is also the obvious step up from the 4 × 4 SE700; see our SE700 vs SE2000 comparison.

Choose an SE1900 if…

You can see it stitch (or get a recent stitch-out photo), the 5 × 7 hoop and embroidery unit are included, and the price difference is big enough to cover a service visit and no warranty. Pair it with a small USB drive for transfers.

Skip both if…

You already sew on a machine you like. An embroidery-only machine lets you keep sewing while a design stitches; our embroidery-only vs combo guide walks through that decision.

What to check on a used SE1900

A combo has more parts to check than an embroidery-only machine:

  1. Embroidery unit and 5 × 7 hoop. Without them, it is just a sewing machine.
  2. Presser feet, especially the embroidery foot and buttonhole foot.
  3. A stitch-out in both modes: a few sewing stitches and a built-in embroidery design with lettering.
  4. Model label. Confirm it says SE1900, not a 4 × 4 model.
  5. Service history and a plan for a tune-up if it is unknown.

Our used embroidery machine checklist has the full list.

The bottom line

The SE1900 and SE2000 make the same size embroidery and sew at the same top speed. The SE2000 earns its place with wireless transfer, jump stitch trimming, more built-in content and a clearer screen, and it is the one Brother still sells new with a warranty.

For most first-time buyers, the SE2000 is the safer pick. A used SE1900 is reasonable only when it is clearly cheaper and in verified working order. To see how both fit Brother’s wider range, read the Brother embroidery machine lineup guide or our roundup of the best sewing and embroidery combos.

Spec comparison

Manufacturer specifications, checked October 2026. Maximum speed is a ceiling, not typical output.

MachineFieldTypeDesignsMax speedTransfer
Brother SE1900130 × 180 mm (5 × 7 in)Combo138—USB
Brother SE2000130 × 180 mm (5 × 7 in)Combo193650 spmUSB, Wi-Fi, Artspira app

What to buy

The supplies this guide calls for, with what to check before buying. Prices change often — confirm with the seller.

  • Small USB flash drive — The most universal way to move designs from computer to machine.
  • Cut-away stabilizer — Permanent support for knits, T-shirts, sweatshirts and anything that stretches.
  • Tear-away stabilizer — Temporary support for stable wovens such as canvas, denim, twill and quilting cotton.

Frequently asked questions

Does the SE2000 have a bigger hoop than the SE1900?
No. Brother lists a 5 × 7 inch maximum embroidery area for both. The SE2000’s upgrades are wireless transfer, jump stitch trimming, a larger screen and more built-in designs and fonts.
Is the Brother SE1900 discontinued?
Yes. Brother’s product page lists the SE1900 as discontinued. The SE2000 is the current 5 × 7 sewing and embroidery combo in Brother’s lineup.
Does the SE1900 have an automatic thread cutter?
Brother’s data conflicts: the spec table says no automatic thread cutter but also lists automatic feed thread cutting for embroidery, and the manual describes an end-of-color trim. The SE2000 page lists an automatic thread cutter and jump stitch trimming.
Can the SE1900 use Artspira?
Brother lists the SE1900 as not wireless-enabled, so it cannot receive designs from the Artspira app directly. You can still move designs by USB stick.
How fast does the SE1900 embroider?
Brother’s SE1900 page lists 850 stitches per minute for sewing but does not state a maximum embroidery speed. The SE2000 is listed at up to 650 spm for embroidery.

Sources